First Step Award — Call for Nominations

The ALCTS Continuing Resources Section presents the First Step Award, a Wiley Professional Development Grant.  The award provides librarians who are new to the serials field with the opportunity to broaden their perspectives and encourages professional development and participation at American Library Association (ALA) conferences and Continuing Resources Section activities.   ALCTS members with five or less years of professional experience in the continuing resources field are eligible.  The award consists of $1,500, donated by John Wiley & Sons, Inc., and is applicable toward round trip transportation, lodging, registration fees, etc.  Eligible applicants may apply more than once.  Winners will be chosen based on:  commitment to professional development in the continuing resources field as shown by participation in continuing education activities, workshops and previous participation in professional activities; candidate’s written justification for the grant in terms of commitment to and interest in continuing resources related work; personal professional development; financial need; two letters of reference; and a vita.

Send nominations to:  Mark Hemhauser, chair, First Step Jury,

The deadline for nominations is December 1, 2013.

Visit the First Step Award page for more information:

This entry was posted in Serials news/announcements and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s