2010 NASIG Awards – Application Deadline January 18, 2010

The application deadlines for the 2010 NASIG awards are rapidly approaching. Completed applications are due by January 18, 2010.

The Awards & Recognition committee (A&R) would like to highlight two awards in particular. A new award this year is the John Merriman Joint NASIG/UKSG Award. Offered in tandem with United Kingdom Serials Group (our sister organization), this award provides for a member of each group with a background in E-resource management to attend the others annual conference. If you’re a member of NASIG, have experience in E-resource management, and have wanted to attend the UKSG conference, but costs have been prohibitive, this may be your chance. For the NASIG winner, the Merriman Award offers travel to the UKSG conference in Edinburgh, Scotland, taking place April 12-14, 2010. In addition, the award provides for accommodations for the duration of the conference and paid conference registration which includes most meals.

Full information about the Merriman Award can be found on the NASIG website at http://www.nasig.org/about_awards_merriman.cfm

The second award A&R wants to highlight is the 2010 Champion Award offered in honor of NASIG’s 25th anniversary. The Champion Award will acknowledge the contributions of a professional in the serials field. Examples of such contributions that have impacted the profession include publications, presentations, innovative thinking, service, and endeavors to foster collaboration among participants in the serials profession. Applicants for the award can apply directly or be nominated by peers. The award offers fully-paid conference registration, three nights lodging, and travel costs within North America to attend the 2010 NASIG conference. In addition, the recipient will receive a year’s free membership in NASIG and a monetary award of five hundred dollars.

Full information about the Champion Award can be found on the NASIG website at http://www.nasig.org/about_awards_champion.cfm

Of course, we will be offering the full complement of awards this year. For full information, see the NASIG Awards webpage at http://www.nasig.org/about_awards.cfm

Thank you. Please contact us with any questions.


Chris Brady

Co-Chair, NASIG Awards & Recognition Committee

US Dept of Justice Libraries

Email: bradycrb@gmail.com

Phone: (202) 305-1614


Carol Ficken

Co-Chair, NASIG Awards & Recognition Committee

University of Akron

email: cficken@uakron.edu

phone: 330-972-7296

fax: 330-972-5132

This entry was posted in 2010 Conference and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s